In 1972, Tribal Development Directorate established for effective implementation of Tribal Welfare Schemes under Social Welfare Department. In 1976 Tribal Development Commissionerate was established. Independent Tribal Development Department was established on 22nd April 1983 and Department works independently since 1984. To strengthen the Tribal Development Department, Directorate was merged into Commissionerate in 1992.

There are 4 ATC (Addl. Commissioner, Tribal Development) and 29 ITDP (Integrated Tribal Development Project) offices for effectively implementation of various State Govt. & Central Govt. welfare schemes. These schemes includes social welfare, economical welfare, educational upliftment, social justice, women & child welfare, healthcare, nutrition, employment, etc. Total outlay of this department for the year 2015-16 is Rs.5170 Crores.

Introduction to Tribals in Maharashtra

The area under the Tribal Sub Plan in Maharashtra is 50,757 sq.kms., as against the total geographical area of 3,07,713 sq. kms. of the State. This works out to about 16.5 percent of the geographical area of the State. The comparative figures of the State’s population and the Tribal population in the last five-decal censuses are given below:-

Census Year State’s Total Population (In Lakh) Tribal Population (In Lakh) Percentage
1971 504.12 38.41 7.62%
1981 627.84 57.72 9.19%
1991 789.37 73.18 9.27%
2001 968.79 85.77 8.85%
2011 1123.74 105.10 9.35

There are 45 Scheduled Tribe Communities in Maharashtra, in which the Bhils, the Gonds, the Mahadeo Kolis, the Pawras, the Thakurs and the Varlis are the main tribes. There are three tribes Viz. the Kolams (Yavatmal District), the Katkaris (mainly in Raigad, Thane and Palghar Districts) and the Madia Gonds (Gadchiroli District), which have been notified as Primitive Tribes by the Government of India.

There are 36 Districts in the State and the tribal population is largely concentrated in the Western Hilly Districts of Dhule, Nandurbar, Jalgaon, Nashik, Palghar and Thane (Sahyadri Region) and the eastern forest Districts of Chandrapur, Gadchiroli, Bhandara, Gondia, Nagpur, Amravati and Yavatmal (Gondwana Region).

There are total 29 Integrated Tribal Development Project Offices in the State. Out of which 11 Integrated Tribal Development Project Offices have been declared most sensitive. These most sensitive I.T.D.P.Offices are namely Nashik, Kalwan, Taloda, Jawhar, Dahanu, Dhaarani, Kinwat, Pandharkavda, Gadchiroli, Aheri and Bhamragad.


Total Administrative & Teaching Staff strength is 20,000. In addition to this there is also teaching & non-teaching staff in Aided Ashram Schools & Hostels.

Group Sanctioned Posts Filled Posts Vacant Posts
A 96 61 35
B 258 90 168
C 11300 7890 3410
D 8648 6555 2093
Total 20302 14596 5706

सामाजिक जोडणी

© आदिवासी विभाग आयुक्तालय, महाराष्ट्र, भारत यांचे हे अधिकृत संकेतस्थळ आहे. सर्व अधिकार सुरक्षित.